I have been posting a lot about the Superhero party. Here is the link for the Decorations. Here is the link for the food. This post is about the party favors each of the kids got go home with.

One of the best parts of the party was watching these kids turn into superheroes! I made a cape for each child to wear and take home. These were adorable decorations and then provided a lot of fun. Plus what kid doesn’t like to go home with a superhero cape?

Each child received a superhero cape with their name on it.

Each child received a superhero cape with their name on it.


I made these capes from t-shirts. Keeping my budget in mind, I wanted to find these shirts for cheap! THere were a few options. I searched the internet to try and buy them wholesale. Without having to buy 100 shirts, they were just as expensive online as they were in stores. Then I thought about going to thrift stores. I never actually made it to thrift stores because I found shirts at the Dollar Tree! I was so excited. They were in all different colors and sizes. Most of the shirts were irregulars, but that is okay, I was going to cut them up anyway!
Here is how I made superhero capes for $1

I took a t-shirt and cut it up the sides, then cut the sleeves off, then cut carefully around the front of the collar. THis way all that was left was the collar and the back attached. I wrote “Super” and the Kids names on them. (This made sure no one was fighting over a color at the party. Plus I had different size shirts, so the little ones could get a little cape and big ones a big cape) It was SO easy to do and looked so great. I hung the masks and the cape on a hanger.

The capes and masks all hung up.

The capes and masks all hung up.

Then I used the sleeves to make a mask for each of the kids. I just cut eye holes in them and they were able to put them on their heads. Finally I cut scraps to make wrist bands, head bands, or anything else. I put these in a bucket labeled “Extra Disguises” so they could just grab.

Here they could grab any extra things for their superhero costume.

Here they could grab any extra things for their superhero costume.

Kares wanted to do a craft project at her party too. I wanted something easy that the kids could do themselves. I found these little people cut outs and then made different colored capes. I provided markers, crayons, glue, and eyes for them to use. I set all of it up at a little table in the corner and directed a few kids at a time to go create their own superhero! We hung all of the heroes up on the window to dry and provide a little more decoration.
I was able to find Super Hero markers and crayons for $1 each. They were perfect for the party. (Also great when the markers didn’t get the tops put on…we threw them out without a worry) I put them in the bins I bought at the Dollar Tree.

The craft table for kids to create their own Super Hero!

The craft table for kids to create their own Super Hero!

I found these in the $1 section at Michaels.  They were perfect for the party!

I found these in the $1 section at Michaels. They were perfect for the party!

I think the kids had a blast, and were able to take home a personalized favor. I thought it was better than a bag full of dollar store toys they will use for an hour! They now have their very own superhero cape and little craft to go with it.

