I posted here about our Superhero party, and here about how I kept the decorations under $12! This post is about how I kept the food in line with the superhero theme! We had over 20 kids plus their parents at the party. I knew I needed something EASY, as well as somewhat inexpensive.

The superman cake was definitely the BEST part of the food!

The cake that she insisted I make myself!

The cake that she insisted I make myself!

Kares wanted me to make her cake. I am NOT a great baker and am not so artsy when it comes to that stuff. She even helped me search the internet for inspiration. The adorable ones were all made of fondant. I was not ready to tackle that, so I searched for other ways to make it. I explained to Kares that her cake would not look like the ones she found online. I even showed her some “messed up” cakes and said it may look like this! I wanted her to be prepared when I completely messed things up.
I found these awesome sugar sheets made by Wilton. (click here for the link to this awesome product) Basically they are just a sheet much like paper of colored sugar! I was able to print out a superman symbol on regular computer paper to use as my template. Then I used an exacto knife to carefully cut. I put the paper symbol on top of the sugar sheet and just cut. I did one color at a time and then placed the cut sugar sheet on the cake. I was able to do this the night before the party. When I showed Kares the finished cake she says, “Mommy, it looks like a REAL superman symbol!” (To be honest I was surprised at how well it turned out!) Because we had so many people I made an extra cake that we decorated with yellow frosting and red, white, and blue sprinkles.

The party was at lunch time so I felt as if I had to serve something substantial and somewhat healthy. I really wanted “Hero” sandwiches catered from a sub shop. But the budget wouldn’t allow it! These were far to expensive. I gave Kares an option of pizza or pasta for the main dish and she chose pizza. Easy enough, they deliver and I do NO prepwork. This was very important to me.

I wanted to serve healthy snacks with the pizza. So I put a basket of tiny clementine oranges out. I called this “Power Packed Fruit”.

Power Packed Fruit

Power Packed Fruit

I made a vegetable tray with x-ray vision carrots, super strength broccoli, and cucumbers from Krypton. I bought the baby carrots so I didn’t have to cut them. I cut the broccoli the night before and the cucumbers that morning. I bought already made ranch dip. I just used construction paper to make a little sign for the foods.

X-Ray Vision Carrots Super Strength Broccoli Cucumbers from Krypton

X-Ray Vision Carrots
Super Strength Broccoli
Cucumbers from Krypton

I made limeade for the kids to drink. I took the easy way out and used Country Time powder mix and a little green food coloring. I then bought some green glow sticks at Dollar Tree. ($1 for 2 sticks) I put a couple of these in the pitcher of limeade. Then made a note saying it was Kryptonite.

Kryptonite (limeade) with glow sticks in it!

Kryptonite (limeade) with glow sticks in it!

I found Superman fruit snacks at the grocery store. These were a perfect addition to our food table too. Again, I am going for EASY things here! I just put them into a bucket and put them right on the table. I also found the buckets for the oranges and fruitsnacks at the Dollar tree. It was only $1 for a two pack! Great deal!

Superman fruit snacks made a great addition to the table.

Superman fruit snacks made a great addition to the table.

I pulled it all together by putting a red plastic table cloth down. I found great plastic containers at Dollar Tree to put things in. Kares saw some gold Happy Birthday garland (again at Dollar Tree) and wanted it, so I weaved that through everything. We used red paper plates and yellow napkins. Cake plates were blue. Finally I added a couple of the girls Superman toys to the table.

I tried to keep the superhero theme throughout the party.  Even the food table was superhero themed!

I tried to keep the superhero theme throughout the party. Even the food table was superhero themed!


I used toys that she already had to add just a little more detail to our food table.

I used toys that she already had to add just a little more detail to our food table.

Keep checking back for more Superhero party stuff! I am going to create another post with the party favors and how to create a superhero cape for $1. I am also going to post how we were able to entertain these children for the party! Don’t forget you can click on the follow link to the right so you don’t miss any posts. Feel free to put this on your Pinterest boards too!

