I posted before (click HERE) about the Superhero birthday party we threw for our daughter’s 5th birthday. This post is all about the decorations! We (my girls and I) made most of the decorations ourselves, and I really kept it on a budget!

The inside of the house was decorated!  Streamers, superman, capes, and more!

The inside of the house was decorated! Streamers, superman, capes, and more!

We put streamers hanging from the lights and fan that went in all directions. These provided a lot of color and were SO cheap. I got a pack of 2 at the Dollar Tree. I bought red, blue, and yellow.

I tried to use things that she already had to decorate with. This makes things even cheaper! One of my favorite decorations was when we made Superman fly above the kids heads. We hung up one of her stuffed superman dolls from the fan. It was awesome!

Superman was flying above the kids' heads!

Superman was flying above the kids’ heads!

She got a big Superman blanket for her birthday. So we hung it up on the wall behind the table. This was a great backdrop for the cake cutting!

Superman blanket provided a great decoration for the cake cutting!

Superman blanket provided a great decoration for the cake cutting!

I also hung up a superhero beach towel on the wall in our garage. We opened up the garage and had it as a safe area for the kids to play and adults to gather. But it needed a little something. So we, again used what we had, and created a little more superhero decor!

Superhero capes are a must for any superhero party! I made these as favors for the kids to take home, but they also provided great decorations. I will make another post with a do it yourself tutorial. So be sure to check back or click on the link to be emailed each time I update the blog! I bought shimmery blue material to hang the capes from. I also used it to hang up the craft and for the bow on the door. This was $9.99 at Hobby Lobby but I used a 40% off coupon and got it for $6.00. I have so much left over that it will make great July 4th decorations! (Here is where I got the superhero cape idea)

Each child received a superhero cape with their name on it.

Each child received a superhero cape with their name on it.

I try to think about all of the little details when planning a party. I wrote on the bathroom mirror with a dry erase marker. I wrote, “Looking Good Superhero!” then put “POW, BAM, WHACK” around it. This was a cheap and easy way to add a little something extra!

Even the mirror was decorated in the superhero theme!

Even the mirror was decorated in the superhero theme!

The front and back door also had to fit in with our theme. I found a superhero dry erase board in the dollar section at Michaels. This was perfect! I hung it on our wreath hanger on the back door. On the front door I put a yellow and blue bow. I got the yellow bow at Dollar Tree and used leftover blue fabric to make the blue part. I was going to make a superman symbol to add to it, but time just got away from me and forgot to do it!

We put this on the door for all of the guests to see as they came in!

We put this on the door for all of the guests to see as they came in!

The front door had a yellow and blue bow. I ran out of time, but wanted to add a superman symbol to the middle!

The front door had a yellow and blue bow. I ran out of time, but wanted to add a superman symbol to the middle!

Budget Breakdown: TOTAL DECORATIONS $11.00
Red, blue, yellow streamers- $3
Blue shimmer fabric- $6
Superhero Sign- $1
Yellow bow- $1
Blanket- FREE
Superman-FREE
Beachtowel-FREE

As you can see I kept the decorations very inexpensive. I used what we already had and was able to decorate my entire house. Keep checking back, I will post about how to make the capes, how to keep the food with the superhero theme, and how we were able to entertain over 20 kids at the party. You can sign up for emails so you never miss an update. Just click on the link to the right.

