What did you do for Valentine’s day? Kares wanted to give treats to everyone at school, everyone at dance class, and everyone in the neighborhood. I wanted something a little different than the typical Valentine and wanted something she helped create….but not too expensive of course!
We made chocolate and sprinkled marshmallows! They were a hit.

20130213-203643.jpg

20130213-201857.jpg
The ingredients were simple and cheap! Marshmallows, white chocolate (only because ours had to be pink…dark or milk chocolate will be great too), sprinkles, and food coloring.

20130213-202101.jpg
First I melted the chocolate and added the color. I used a double boiler (I don’t actually have one, so really it was a pot of boiling water with a different pot on top that held the chocolate). You can also melt it in the microwave, but the chocolate will harden after a little bit. If you have a big batch use your crockpot and the chocolate will stay melted and creamy until you are done! Then using a toothpick or I prefer a long skewer and dip the end of the marshmallow in the chocolate.

20130213-202458.jpg
Next I put sprinkles in a shallow bowl and gently touched them with the hot chocolate on the marshmallow.

20130213-202608.jpg
(pay no attention to the tiny feet…she helps me cook by sitting on the counter so she can reach!)

Then let them cool on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. No need to even refrigerate!

20130213-202743.jpg
Kares had fun helping me make them and they didn’t break the bank! They were pretty easy as well. I also made them for Kailani’s birthday party i left them on a stick for her party and maybe will do them for St. Patrick’s day as well. Just change the color sprinkle and chocolate. I even saw different shaped and colored marshmallows if you want to get really fancy.

