Today is the last of my “Healthy Eating Series” click here for Days one and two.

I always try and have my girls help me cook dinner. We talk about the ingredients, we discuss what is healthy and how it helps your body. They know that carrots help you see, broccoli helps you fight sickness, and cookies are not healthy at all! This way they are learning good habits and I want them to know why they have to eat healthy rather than doing it because I said so.

When they do help me cook they either sit on the counter or stand on a stool. This way they can take an active part and actually help! My other motive behind them helping me cook is that they are constantly wanting to snack on what they are cooking. So they snack on healthy things before dinner. (click here to see my post on that)
They also are more likely to try new things and eat what they cook. If they made it, they want to eat it.

Here are a few of our favorite recipes that have little or no processed food or carbs in them. We don’t eat like this every night, but really try most days!

I don’t cook by exact measurements…here is a guideline. Sorry I don’t have many pictures…sometimes just cooking dinner seems like an Olympic event…I don’t even think about taking pics!
Stir Fry: I use chicken, beef, or shrimp (depending on what we have) and fry that in a wok with soy sauce and garlic.
I stir fry in vegetables (broccoli, carrots, baby corn, green beans, or whatever you like).
I take all of that out of the wok and then I make cauliflower rice.
I chop up a head of cauliflower using a cheese grater or I like my pampered chef chopper. Basically to the size of rice.
I then mix that in the wok with a cracked egg, soy sauce, sesame seeds. I mix up until the cauliflower is soft. Then serve the stir fry over it.
Crock Pot Lettuce Tacos:
In the morning I put chicken breasts, a can of corn (Or leftover cut off the cob), a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes, and half a packet of mild taco seasoning. (Although I put in some mango/pineapple salsa instead of taco seasoning and tomatoes the other day…it was AMAZING!)
I let that cook all day on low.
20130117-151521.jpg
About an hour before we are ready to eat I take the chicken out and shred it with a fork. Then put it back into the crock pot.
Then I take romaine lettuce and use it for the taco shell. I put cheese, avocado, cilantro, and lime along with the chicken mixture. We have leftovers with the mixture and it is amazing!
Spaghetti:
I chop tomato, yellow squash, and zucchini into bite size pieces. I put them in a pot with a little olive oil and fresh basil. I let it simmer for at least an hour (often 2-3). Add salt to taste (and Kris likes a little sugar) along with oregano and garlic.
I take a spaghetti squash and cut it in half. Scoop out the inside seeds and mush, kind of like a pumpkin. Then place the squash face down on a stone or cookie sheet and bake at 375 for about 40 minutes or until it feels soft. Take it out and use a fork to remove the squash insides. It will look like spaghetti. Serve your tomato mix over it and it reminds me of spaghetti! I make meatballs sometimes to go with it.
Turkey Meatloaf:
I hate hate hate meatloaf…but I really like this one!
I use lean ground turkey. Mix with 1 egg, craisins, walnuts, and feta cheese. I use a little season salt in it for a little flavor. Mix it together and put in a loaf pan. Bake at 350-375. (not sure how long…I usually cover it and keep checking on it). We eat with some kind of veggie on the side.
My girls eat these recipes and love them. Sometimes they ask for real noodles instead of squash, so I make a pot of noodles for them, but that isn’t usually too much work.
Enjoy!

 

